Temporary Semi-Vegetarians

My husband came home from work today and informed me of his intentions to participate in a weight-loss bet at work (again).  If he wins, he could gain a sizeable chunk of cash.  If he loses, he loses big – he loses his hair.

Yes, he actually agreed to shave his head.

Now, his flowing locks are one of the reasons that I married him, and I do not intend to see so much as a trim come off that mane without my consent.  Since I was forced to have a vested interest in this boys’ bet, I’m now Head Cheerleader in Charge of Weight Loss.  Poor man – I wonder if he realizes that I have the power to starve him?

Actually, I’ve decided that if I can’t beat ‘em, I’ll join ‘em.  Over dinner (which was relatively sensible), TL and I came up with a reasonable weight loss plan that involves a minimum of sacrifice.  I have decided, after reading “Food Matters” by Mark Bittman, to eat vegan until 6pm.  No animal products and no artificial/processed foods until dinner time – and then I can eat what I want (within reason).  The thought process behind this is that if I know I have a big ‘ol steak waiting for me at the end of the day, it’s easier for me to say no to that pastrami on rye at lunch (and save myself who knows how many calories).  TL isn’t willing to go that extreme, but he has agreed to go vegetarian during the day, which will definitely cut a chunk out of his daily caloric intake.  Since I’m in charge of meal planning and cooking, I can make sure that we only eat lean meats in the evenings, if we even eat meat at all.  We might even save some money out of this thing, too – added bonus!  And yes, I know that from a weight loss stand point it makes the most sense to eat our heavier meal earlier in the day, but this works better for our schedule.

So there you have it.  We’ve become semi-vegetarians/vegans*.  And who knows? Maybe I’ll actually get into a bikini for the first time in….well, let’s not go there.

*Until July

Leave a Reply

