So Fresh and So Clean Clean

As I’ve mentioned in earlier posts, I’m a little bit neurotic.  One of the things that I’m most neurotic about is my house and it’s cleanliness (or uncleanliness).  I’d love to have it just so, Pottery Barn catalog perfect, at all times.  However, with three kids, three pets, and a husband in the house it’s not really feasible.

But I try.

Recently, I’ve discovered that having a set cleaning schedule has really helped my efforts.  It ensures that the house is relatively  clean most of the time.  A couple of friends on Facebook asked about it, so here it is:

Daily Chores


Morning:

Unload the dishwasher

Make the beds

Wipe down the bathroom counters (typically I only do this in the master and guest baths, because they get used more often than the bathroom upstairs)

Evening:

Do the dishes

Wipe down the kitchen counters/table

Sweep the kitchen/living room

De-clutter/pick up toys

And then throughout the week I do the following chores per day:

Monday: Deep vacuum.

Did you know that it apparently takes SEVEN passes of the vacuum cleaner to actually clean the carpet?  That’s a bit much for me, but I have tried to do at least four passes per section before moving on.  Sometimes.

Tuesday: Dust surfaces and wipe mirrors.

Typically, I just use my Swiffer duster and give a pass over all of the blinds and the furniture – I don’t actually polish anything.

Wednesday: Tubs and Toilets

Thursday:  Mop all of the floors

Friday: Rotates between the following:

1) Polish all of the furniture and wipe down the cabinets

2) Clean all of the baseboards (again, I just use my Swiffer duster to do this)

3) Vacuum/wipe all of the uphostery

4) Scrub the fridge, microwave, and oven

Saturday: Laundry

I know it sounds like a lot, but it actually saves me SO much time.  Rather than wasting a whole Saturday morning cleaning the house from top to bottom, I do it in little increments throughout the week.  Give it a try and let me know what you think!

Or you could just hire a maid.  Which actually sounds pretty awesome.

3 thoughts on “So Fresh and So Clean Clean

  1. I really struggle with my housework neurosis. I used to schedule my house cleaning within an inch of its life. I followed Flylady, downloaded the motivatedmoms schedule and felt totally dissatisfied with it all. However, I really think it was just a way of validating myself – you know, that feeling of job satisfaction? I’ve recently discovered crafting and I would much rather get a kick out of bodging up a placemat than worrying about my baseboards. I’ve gone totally the other way and now I clean stuff when I notice it. I still do things regularly, I empty the dishwasher while I wait for the kettle to boil and I tend to do upstairs on Monday and downstairs on Friday but I don’t obsess over it anymore. I found I was writing things on my schedule that I do on auto-pilot anyway – things like changing dishtowels and brushing my teeth didn’t need to be on a calendar as I did them instinctively. The Flylady thing seemed to aim for perfection, I don’t want to aim to clean every window every 5 weeks, I just want to find a balance.
    Good luck with your new schedule, I’d love to know if it helps you. My biggest tip is to wipe down every basin after use with an ‘E-cloth’, they’re fabulous!

    • It’s funny that you say that, b/c I think that I’m doing the EXACT same thing – it’s a total validation thing. I think that since I don’t have a job outside of the house, I’m trying to fill that void by being the ultimate housekeeper or something. It’s funny how alike we are. 🙂

      What’s an E-cloth? I’ve never heard of those before.

      • An E-cloth is basically a microfibre cloth that when damp is very thorough at cleaning. It’s marketed as the type of cloth that cleans without chemicals – mind you I still use it with a regular cleaner 🙂

Leave a Reply

