Pinterest Project of the Week: Cookie Cutter Bird Feeders

I’m back and ready to blog! I was in Austin for most of last week, so I’m quite behind on my projects/recipes/products.  Not to fear, though, because I started full swing this week and will be doing PLENTY of posting! Aren’t you excited? 🙂

This week the girls and I tried a project that was Pinned from the Prudent Baby blog.  Now, I love Prudent Baby.  It is everything that I aspire to be, craft-speaking.  They have the most gorgeous patterns for when I actually figure out how to sew….sigh.  One day.

Thankfully today’s craft required very little time or skill, which is right up my alley.  You can find their full (and I’m sure, better) instructions here: http://prudentbaby.com/2012/04/baby-kid/cookie-cutter-bird-feeder/

Here’s what you’ll need:

-Approximately 3/4 cup birdseed (whatever is available and cheap)

-1/4 cup water

-1 small envelope Knox gelatine (available on the baking aisle)

-Twine, yarn, or string

-Cookie cutters

 

Here’s what you’ll do:

1. Mix together the envelope of gelatine with 1/4 cup of water.  Bring it to a simmer of medium-low heat while stirring.

2. Remove from heat and let cool for a minute.

3. Stir in the birdseed, adding a little more if there is still some liquid at the bottom.

4. Lay your cookie cutters on wax paper and fill about halfway with the birdseed mixture.

 

5. Cut your yarn, tie a knot in the end, and press it into the birdseed.

6. Fill the cookie cutter the rest of the way with birdseed, covering the yarn.

7. Allow it to dry overnight, turning every once in awhile.

8. Remove it from the cookie cutters and hang in a nearby tree, then watch as you get feathery visitors!

 

The “hands on” time of this project was about ten minutes, and clean up was minimal.  Win win!

*If you’d like to see what else I’m doing on Pinterest, check me out here! http://pinterest.com/jsmamabear/ .

 

Leave a Reply

