Things I Learned in Kindergarten

L’s last day of kindergarten is today, and the experience is very bittersweet for me.  On one hand, I am so freaking excited about having her home all day, every day, that I can’t stand it.  On the other hand, how is it that the year is already over? And that as of tomorrow she will be a FIRST GRADER?

Back in August, it felt like this day would never come.  I was a nervous wreck on the first day of school, anxious and emotional.  I couldn’t wait until summertime and for kindergarten to be over  – and now it is.  And I’m going to miss it.  Kindergarten was a pivotal time for all of us, not just for L.

Here’s what I learned in kindergarten this year:

  • My babies can survive without me with them every second of the day
  • I can survive without them every second of the day
  • It’s okay to trust other adults with the care and stewardship of my children (during school hours at least)
  • (Most of) the teachers and staff care almost as much as we do about seeing our kids safe, happy, and successful
  • I can no longer be the sole administrator of my child’s social life
  • “Phineas and Ferb” is actually a pretty funny show
  • Potty talk is something that I have learned to tolerate (to a degree)
  • Sight words are a big deal
  • So is counting to 100
  • Rules taught in the classroom can also be enforced at home.  My favorite?  “Sit on your pockets and show me your five”.  They also work with three-year-olds.
  • You’re never too old to love the Book Fair, and the posters are still awesome
  • Riding the bus isn’t as scary as I thought it was
  • I can’t force my kid to eat vegetables just because I put it in her lunchbox
  • PE is MUCH cooler than it was when I was a kid
  • Never underestimate the importance of sending money on Spirit Shop days
  • Five year olds can become quite fluent in sarcasm
  • Watching your baby become an independent kid isn’t as hard as you think it will be

First Day of School

Last Day of School

Leave a Reply

